Items in Basket: 0
Lost In Light Rotation


Lost In Light Rotation

Label: Fortuna Pop

Genre: Rock / Pop


  • CD €13.99
    In Stock

Fortuna POP! are delighted to be releasing the new album by US indiepop legends Tullycraft. ‘Lost in Light Rotation’ is the first new Tullycraft record since 2007’s ‘Every Scene Needs A Center’. Produced by the band themselves and engineered by Pete Remine, it also holds the distinction of being mixed by Phil Ek (The Shins, Band of Horses, Built to Spill, The Halo Benders, The Shout Out Louds, Fleet Foxes, The Walkmen). The album benefits from Ek’s experience ironing out the quirks to create a wonderfully polished, yet still as punk as ever, sheen on the 11 delightfully upbeat, smart, indiepop anthems. For those of you unfamiliar with the pleasures of Tullycraft, the band formed in Seattle, Washington in 1995, releasing in the same year their signature hit, “Pop Songs Your New Boyfriend’s Too Stupid To Know About", which managed to encapsulate an entire scene in just one song.

Their full-length debut Old Traditions, New Standards was released in 1996 and their incessant US touring paid dividends with a devoted following and fanzines and new bands springing up in their wake. Having changed line-up several times over the years, the band released five albums before embarking on a brief hiatus in 2009. All five current members of Tullycraft (Sean Tollefson, Jeff Fell, Chris Munford, Jenny Mears and Cori Hale) reunited to record the new album.  Revelling in a DIY aesthetic and a clever brand of self-referential indiepop, Tullycraft pioneered the Twee scene in America and do not shy away from the term. ‘Lost in Light Rotation’ sparkles with brainy fairy dust and glitters with proper pop songs, with Sean Tollefson’s nasal vocal delivery counterbalanced by the sweetness of Jenny Mears’ responses. If you need a template for what the best indiepop sounds like, look no further.