Items in Basket: 0
Orkestra Digitalis

Future Pilot Aka

Orkestra Digitalis

Label: Glass Modern

Genre: Post Rock / Avant Rock


  • LP €22.99
    In Stock
Much anticipated and final studio album by Future Pilot AKA, the brainchild of Indo-Caledonian bassist/bandleader Sushil K Dade.

9 years in the making this album was not originally intended to be released via the conventional format of an album release. Initially the individual recordings were hidden in the elements by the artist (shorelines/ hills/wind farms/ islands and lochs) as part of a #soniktreasurehunt sound/research project across Scotland. After all the hidden tracks were discovered by music fans via clues/co-ordinates shared on social media by the artist, Dade decided to 'curate' a one-off edition of these recordings in the format of a picnic hamper as a conclusion to the #soniktreasurehunt. This was discovered at a bus-stop near Faslane Nuclear base. After several years since the discovery of the 'one-off edition' Glass Modern are thrilled to bring together these tracks and finally present these in the classic format of 'the album'.

Future Pilot AKA music is highly collaborative and Dade’s previous recordings have featured contributions from a range of artists including Philip Glass, Damo Suzuki, Mikey Dread, The Pastels, The Go-Betweens. Featured on Orkestra Digitalis are contributions from Soft Machine legend Robert Wyatt (he posted Dade a cassette of his vocals lines), Ethiopian jazz master Mulatu Astatke (making his vocal debut on a tribute to Charles Mingus), Brian Eno collaborator Leo Abrahams, Canadian singer-songwriter Ron Sexsmith, Scottish artists Emma Pollock (Delgados), R M Hubbert, Craig Armstrong and Turner Prize Award Winning Artist Martin Boyce who meditates on a quote from an Orange Juice classic.

The first singles ‘Tutti Shruti’ (ft Robert Wyatt) and 'The Art Of Good Breathing' (ft Emma Pollock/Ron Sexsmith) have received support from radio DJ’s including Gideon Coe, Lauren Laverne, Steve Lamacq, Mary Anne Hobbs, Vic Galloway & Shaun Keavney.