Items in Basket: 0
The Deer's Cry

Arvo Part / Vox Clamantis

The Deer's Cry

Label: Ecm

Genre: Jazz / Avant Garde


  • CD €19.99
    In Stock
<p class="language">The second ECM New Series album to fully showcase pure-toned Estonian vocal group Vox Clamantis and its artistic director/conductor Jaan-Eik Tulve is devoted to compositions by their great countryman, Arvo Pärt – whose music has been the most performed globally of any living composer over the past five years. This album – titled <em>The Deer’s Cry</em> after its first track, an incantatory work for a cappella mixed choir – is also the latest in an illustrious line of ECM New Series releases to feature Pärt’s compositions, the very music that inspired Manfred Eicher to establish the New Series imprint in 1984. Along with such classic works as <em>Da pacem Domine</em> the new album includes first-time recordings of the a cappella pieces <em>Drei Hirtenkinder aus Fátima</em> and <em>Habitare Fratres</em>. There is also an a cappella version of <em>Alleluia-Tropus</em>, which Vox Clamantis previously recorded alongside instruments for the acclaimed New Series album <em>Adam’s Lament</em>. Rarely recorded material makes up nearly half of this new release, including three pieces with instrumental accompaniment: <em>Von Angesicht zu Angesicht</em>, <em>Sei gelobt, du Baum</em> and <em>Veni Creator</em>.<br /><strong></strong><em></em></p>